Inquirer named ‘Best Business News Source’ again | Inquirer Business

Inquirer named ‘Best Business News Source’ again

/ 02:41 AM October 20, 2013

BACK-TO-BACK CHAMPS The Inquirer was named “Best Business News Source” by Ejap during Friday’s 22nd Ejap-Globe Journalism Awards. Present at the awarding ceremonies were (from left): reporters Miguel Camus, Michelle Remo and Riza Olchondra; assistant business editor Corrie Narisma; desk editor Tina Arceo-Dumlao, and reporters Daxim Lucas and Paolo Montecillo. Not in photo is awardee Doris Dumlao. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

For the second year in a row, the Philippine Daily Inquirer has been named “Best Business News Source” by the umbrella organization of the country’s economic reporters.

The honor was bestowed on the Inquirer by the Economic Journalists Association of the Philippines (Ejap) during the 22nd Ejap Business Journalism Awards, presented by Globe Telecom Inc., on Friday.


The Inquirer received three awards through two members of its business team, who were named as the best reporters on their respective beats for the year.

The winners


Riza Olchondra was honored as Reporter of the Year twice in a single year for her coverage of both the agriculture and the trade beats.

Veteran reporter Doris Dumlao was honored for her coverage of the capital markets beat.

They were Olchondra’s third and fourth Ejap Awards in her journalism career.

Dumlao’s award was her 12th.

Tying with the Inquirer for the “Best Business News Source” award this year was Malaya, whose reporters also received three awards.

The team

The Inquirer’s business news team is led by editor Raul Marcelo and assistant business editor Ma. Socorro Narisma.


The other members of the group are editors Tina Arceo-Dumlao, Margie Quimpo-Espino and Eric Olona, and reporters Daxim Lucas, Michelle Remo, Ronnel Domingo, Amy Remo, Paolo Montecillo and Miguel Camus, and editorial assistant Princess Ominga. Most of them were award recipients in previous years.

Other winners

Other winners in this year’s Ejap Awards were Malaya reporters Jimmy Calapati for the banking beat, Richmond Mercurio for the energy beat and Angela Lorraine Celis for the macroeconomy beat; BusinessMirror reporters Lenie Lectura for the telecommunications beat and VG Cabuag for the best feature story; and Philippine Star’s Iris Gonzales for the finance beat.

This year’s panel of judges was composed of Finance Undersecretary and Synergeia Foundation CEO Milwida Guevara (chair), former Finance Secretary Margarito Teves, ING Bank country CEO Consuelo Garcia, Assistant Finance Secretary Ma. Teresa Habitan, former National Economic and Development Authority Deputy Director General Dennis Arroyo, former Energy Undersecretary Jay Layug, Philippine Economic Society president Alvin Ang and Globe Telecom consultant for legal affairs Rodolfo Salalima.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: “Best Business News Source”, awards, Economic Journalists Association of the Philippines, EJAP, Philippine Daily Inquirer
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Curated business news

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2021 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.