Timeline: UAAP history | Inquirer Business

Timeline: UAAP history

/ 03:55 AM August 31, 2019

Timeline: UAAP historyThe University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) opens its 82nd edition on September 1 at the Mall of Asia Arena. Eight universities will compete in at least 15 sports events to be held in different venues in Metro Manila.

Sept. 27, 1938 – The UAAP is formally established as a permanent sports association. Its first members are National University (NU), University of the Philippines (UP), University of Santo Tomas (UST) and Far Eastern University (FEU).


1954 – The University of the East (UE) is accepted into the UAAP.

1965 to 1971 – The UE Warriors (now UE Red Warriors) wins seven consecutive titles in the men’s basketball tournament. Philippine basketball legend Robert Jaworski was one of its star players.


1970 – The Adamson University is admitted to the UAAP, after it was taken in on a probationary status from 1952 until 1954.

1978 – The Ateneo de Manila University becomes a member of the league.

1986 – The De La Salle University joins the UAAP, becoming the last school to be admitted to the league.

1994 – The Final Four format is introduced in the league.

February 2010 to March 2016 – Adamson University holds the longest winning streak at 73 games in the softball women’s division.

2002 to 2006 – UST bags five straight titles in the cheerdance competition, becoming the first university to establish a winning dynasty in this sports category. UST and UP are tied for most cheerdance competition titles at eight apiece.

2011 – UAAP Season 74 hosted by Ateneo kicks off at Marikina Sports Complex, the first time the opening ceremonies are held outdoors.


Aug. 26, 2015 – Republic Act No. 10676, or the Student-Athletes Protection Act, is signed into law. It scraps the UAAP’s two-year residency rule for high school student-athletes transferring to a different school for college.

2012 to 2017 – The Ateneo Lady Eagles and La Salle Lady Spikers face off in six straight finals in women’s volleyball tournament. La Salle wins four championships, while Ateneo bags the remaining two.

2016 – Ballroom dancing is introduced as a demonstration sport in Season 79.

2019 – UST wins its 43rd general championship in the UAAP. It is also the overall champion in the last three years.

Kathleen de Villa, Inquirer Research
Sources: Inquirer Archives, officialgazette.gov.ph, adamson.edu.ph

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Curated business news

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2021 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.