Saturday, May 26, 2018
  • share this

15 PH teams compete in Shell Eco-marathon Asia in Singapore

/ 02:19 PM March 17, 2017
Shell Eco-marathon gathers students to design, build and drive the most energy-efficient vehicles. PHOTO FROM THE SHELL OFFICIAL WEBSITE

Shell Eco-marathon gathers students to design, build and drive the most energy-efficient vehicles. PHOTO FROM THE SHELL OFFICIAL WEBSITE

Singapore—Fifteen teams from various engineering schools in the Philippines are set to compete against 109 squads from 19 other Asia-Pacific countries in this year’s Shell Eco-marathon Asia on Friday.

The four-day annual event is hosted here for the first time after its successful editions in Malaysia in 2010-2013 and the Philippines in 2014-2016.

The Philippine team, which has the second biggest contingent after Indonesia’s 26 teams, is comprised of: City of Bogo Science and Arts Academy (CBSAA Masiyentista), Mapua Institute of Technology (Aguila and Cardinals Hiraya), University of Perpetual Help System Dalta (ALTAS Valor), University of Santo Tomas (UST Eco-Tigers I and II), University of Mindanao (Team UM), Polytechnic University of the Philippines (PUP-Manila and PUP Hygears), De La Salle University-Dasmariñas (DLSU-D Stallions), De La Salle University (DLSU Eco Car Team and Team Battery Electric), University of the Philippines (Dagisik UP), Far Eastern University Institute of Technology (Team FEU Tech) and Ateneo de Manila University (AtenECO).


Shell Eco-marathon gathers students to design, build and drive the most energy-efficient vehicles.

READ: Shell eco-marathon: holding the key to future mobility

Each team must build one of two types of energy-efficient cars: the prototype, a futuristic and highly aerodynamic vehicle; or UrbanConcept, a highly economical and innovative vehicle that resembles present cars.

The entries will compete in three different categories based on selected energy source: internal combustion energy (gasoline, diesel, ethanol, gas to liquid fuel from natural gas or compressed natural gas); hydrogen fuel cell; or battery electric power.

Winning teams in Prototype and UrbanConcept categories will receive $3,000 (P150,000) for their school.

This year’s edition will also see inauguration of the Drivers’ World Championship Asia, in which winning teams will proceed to compete in the Driver’s World Championship in London later this year.

BACKSTORY: DLSU team goes to London Shell Eco-marathon race

The Philippine teams which placed last year in the Manila edition were Mapua’s Aguila Team (2nd place, Prototype-Gasoline category), University of San Carlos’ Team Lahutay 4 (3rd place, Prototype-Diesel) and La Salle’s Eco Car Team (1st place, UrbanConcept-Battery Electric and 2nd place, UrbanConcept-Gasoline).


Eco-marathon started as a friendly wager in 1939 among employees of Shell at a research laboratory in Wood River, Illinois, United States. It became an official organized competition in 1985 and went global with its first US event in 2007.

It is also the highlight of the four-day public event “Make the Future Singapore” in Changi Exhibition Center, which is set to discuss bright energy ideas and solutions to address global energy challenge.

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Motoring, Shell, shell eco-marathon, Singapore
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Duterte to Dole: Convene wage boards

May 27, 2018 07:27 AM


Gov’t, Reds see peace talks revival in June

May 27, 2018 07:26 AM


PH starts repairs on Pag-asa airstrip

May 27, 2018 07:25 AM

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.