Wednesday, May 23, 2018
  • share this

TOFIL marks its 26th year of recognizing Filipino achievers

The highest form of honor is conferment of public recognition.

Through the commendable efforts of the JCI Senate Philippines and the Insular Life Assurance Co., Ltd, The Outstanding Filipino Award (TOFIL) has for the last 25 years conferred a total of 118 awards  to some brilliant and prominent Filipino men and women whose contribution to the country is now publicly known and acclaimed.

Solidly, TOFIL has become an institution borne by many years of hard work. It was conceived in 1988 to celebrate the time-honored traditions of excellence, dedication and fidelity exemplified by our senior heroes in the task of building a free, fair and peaceful society.


Organizers of TOFIL

A byword in Philippine society, the Insular Life Assurance Company, Ltd is the first and largest Filipino life insurance company. By and large, it is an institution that symbolizes stability, dependability and pioneering spirit, now spanning 102 years of sustained service to the Filipinos. Its subsidiaries also engaged in general insurance, health maintenance and investment services.  Undoubtedly Insular Life is today one of the country’s leading full financial service institutions.

While its co-partner, the JCI Senate Philippines is an organization of a select group of Junior Chamber International (JCI) members, who on their own merits are recognized also for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the JCI movement, are thus, conferred lifetime membership as JCI Senators.  These men and women live their JCI creed which ‘recognizes the Giver and Sustainer of Life in enabling mankind to have a purpose-driven life, that brotherhood goes beyond the sovereignty of nations; that free enterprise is  the best form of economic justice; that a genuine government is run by laws, not by men; that the human person is where the earth’s great treasure lies and most importantly, that service to humanity is the best work of life.’

The organizers formally opened the search for TOFIL Awardees for 2013 where JCI Senate National President / JCI Sen. Hermin E. Arceo and Insular Life Chair of the Board & CEO Vicente R. Ayllon launched the 26th TOFIL Awards.

The public is welcome to nominate a Filipino man or woman, 41 years and above, who has excelled in his/her field of endeavor and has significantly contributed to the upliftment of lives.

Nomination forms for the 2013 TOFIL Awards are available at the JCI Senate Philippines secretariat in Quezon City or through JCI Senate Chapter offices nationwide.  The nomination form also can be downloaded from

Deadline for submission of nominations is on Aug. 31, 2013.



Past TOFIL awardees

Last Jan. 8, 2013, three new awardees, our 2012 TOFIL heroes,  joined the ranks of our prestigious Filipino men and women who have put credence and honor to what TOFIL aims to achieve as envisioned by the organizers. They are Associate Justice Adolf S. Azcuna for Justice/Law, Police Director Atty. Samuel D. Pagdilao, Jr. for Military/Police work and Jose F. Datuin for the Arts.

Past TOFIL Awardees include banker Edgardo B. Espiritu, public servant Dr. Cecila Munoz-Palma, human rights advocate Justice Jose B.L. Reyes. Spiritual leader Jaime Cardinal Sin, freedom advocate Sen. Lorenzo Tanada, humanitarian worker Rosa Rosal, arts and culture promoter Dr. Lucresia R. Kasilag, journalist Mr. Teodoro M. Locsin, Sr., theater artist Zenaida M. Amador, rural development advocate Manuel P. Manahan, agricultural researcher Dr. Dioscoro L. Umali, marine biology scientist Edgardo D. Gomez, historian Dr. Renato Constantino, culture and folklorist Fr. Francisco R. Demetrio S.J., surgeon Dr. Jorge M. Garcia, science and technology worker Bonifacio R. Isidro, agriculturist Nicanor Perlas III, playwright Dionisio S. Salazar, educator Dr. Benjamin G. Tayabas, musician Dr. Alfredo S. Buenaventura, professor and journalist Dr. Crispin C. Maslog, educators Dr. Helena  Zoila T. Benitez and Fr. Raul J. Bonoan S.J., pediatrician Dr. Fe V. del Mundo, entrepreneur Menardo R. Jimenez, public accountant Carlos R. Alindada,  international physicist Dr. Amado C. Muriel, billiard champion Efren M. Reyes, businessman Enrique J. Zobel, constructor Engr. David M. Consunji, community servant Sr. Eva Fidel C. Maamo SPC, architect/National Artist Francisco Manosa.

For the complete list of TOFIL Heroes from 1988 to 2012, and  how to nominate, visit

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Insular Life Assurance Company, Ltd., The Outstanding Filipino Award, TOFIL
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved